Time to go gorgeous!

You can only be inspired so many times when you feel like if you don’t do something about it, you are just plain lazy!  Between making my 28 year-old husband and 5 year-old son say “you have to write this recipe down” several times a week and by helping my sister-in-law save nearly $400 a month on groceries, I have officially been inspired.  Finally, I feel like there is something that I am pretty darn good at…eating!  Okay, not just eating…planning, shopping, cooking, AND eating.  I am a 28 year-old mother of two.  My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico.  We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop.  However, we didn’t want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens’ nutrition at risk.  So we haven’t… we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.   My BBF in this process, Aldi.  Yes, I am a believer.  I have tried shopping other places like Walmart and neighborhood grocery stores.  The fact is, I get distracted by the thousands of other items and end up spending much more than I intended.  At Aldi, I not only save money but so much more.  I save time by not roaming forever around a huge store and making decisions to find the best deal.  I can be in and out in less than 30 minutes.  I don’t just enjoy the satisfation of what I save, but more the satisfaction of what I get!  I get really cheap, nutricious, and delicious food that I have found endless ways of making it look and taste gorgeous!!!

So here we go… Tonight I made a meal with two simple dishes.  Here is how.  Not just the recipes, but a play by play.  I’m interested to see if this is a better way to prepare a meal than looking off recipes…

Breaded Baked Pork Chops with Cream Sauce and Carrot Rice Pilaf with Peanuts

Make sure 1LB CENTER CUT PORKCHOPS are thawed and deboned (or just by the ones without the bone…they are not that much more)- cut into 6 pieces and pound on the meat a little bit…its fun

Make WHITE RICE.  I use the old stove top method that is on the back of the bag.  One cup rice to 1 3/4 cups water.   Add a couple pinces of salt and a round of olive oil.

Put a couple cups of ITALIAN BREAD CRUMBS in a bowl (bought at aldi or made by combining dry bread (I save my bread butts in the freezer for this…man that sounds cold) just put it in the oven to dry it out and then crumble with italian seasoning or put in the food processor (I use a magic bullet)

In a small dish beat 1 EGG with a couple drops of water, a couple pinches of rosemary, a couple pinches of black pepper, and a dash of garlic powder.

Dip the pork chops in the EGG MIXTURE and then put in bowl of bread crumbs.

Lightly brown in a skillet that has a few turns of Olive Oil in it.  The stove on medium for 5 minutes on each side should be fine.  Then put the pork chops in a 9×13 glass pan.  Turn your oven on 350 degrees.

In the skillet that you cooked the pork, put a can of CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP and about 3/4 CUP of MILK (whatever kind you like).  Heat it up, pour over pork chops, cover with foil and  put in oven for 45 minutes.

Now you are ready for the CARROT RICE PILAF WITH PEANUT

Clean the pan that you cooked the cream sauce in (less dishes in the end…husbands that do the dishes love this).

Melt 2 tbsp butter or margarine in the pan with a couple cloves of minced garlic.  Cook over medium heat while you do the next step.  Peel and then shred with the peeler 4 CARROTS.  Chop about 1/4 of an onion.  Add the carrots and onion to garlic.  Cook for a little while and then add a healthy tablespoon of LEMON PEPPER.  Chop up a handful of UNSALTED PEANUTS and add to your mixture.  Cook a few more minutes.  Last, turn down the heat and add the cooked rice.  Mix it around and taste and add a little more pepper or lemon pepper if needed.  Turn the heat off.  You might want to add a few drops of water and then put the lid on to keep warm until the pork chops are done. 

Wahlah!  This is a serously tasty meal.  I estimate the porkchops costing less than $5.00 and the rice costing no more than $1.00!  That is less than $6.00 for a family of 4.  Gorgeous!

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, pork chops, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time to go gorgeous!

  1. I know this is good for my kids because I have a low fat meat, calcium, a veggie, and grain. Using olive oil is always the best choice. Using garlic is good for the heart and and amazing for the soul (forget about the breath…everyone in your family is eating it). If I had it in my pantry, I would have used brown rice instead. Aldi sells this on Special Buys occasionally.

  2. Lisa says:

    Very impressive Rache. Can’t wait to read your blog every day and steal all of your yummy recipes! 🙂 Maybe the hubby will buy you a pearl necklace to wear while you’re cooking/blogging, etc!

  3. Kim Willard says:

    I am a Aldi follower and believer. I have adapted MY recipes to fit what Aldi’s has available that week. I can’t wait to try your recipes using the Aldi’s way!!

  4. Bonnie says:

    I am fully impressed with your wit and ideas. Now you need to get Aldi on board and get a bonus for the promo……. Wish I could try all your recipes, but I will adapt and try some of them for dad. He always loves some meal changes. Way to go creative girl. MOM

    • Thanks, mom. Please don’t worry. I will make sure to include you on many menus and I am happy to spend one-on-one time with you in your kitchen. Afterall, you are the one who taught me how to cook! Love you!

Leave a Reply

