Meal 2- Gorgeous Super Foods

My husband brought it to my attention that I forgot to state my goal with all of this madness.  So here it is.  100 different meals before the end of the year.   I would love to be like Juila and shoot for 365 recipes in 365 days, however, I do not think that is very feasible considering the two lovely children I have by my side nightly.  Perhaps I can shell out a few more than 100, but lets keep things reasonable.  Of coarse all meals will be prepared with Aldi ingredients.  There are some occastions that I will pick sale items at other stores, but I shall blog about that later.  

So here is what we just finished devouring this evening.  This meal is FULL of superfoods which means full of nutrition.  I made three simple foods and dressed them up nicely; salmon, broccoli, and potatoes.  I usually cook salmon one of two different ways.  Either dusted with lemon pepper and a little extra black pepper or coated lightly with bar-b-que sauce.  Tonight I decided to try it with both.  Let me tell ya… it was awesome!  Given the blizzard outside right now I chose to bust out the George Foreman Grill.  I could have cooked the salmon on a grill pan or skillet, but good ol’ George is a handy and healthy little fella.  So here it goes! 

Start with the POTATOES.  I love the little golden potatoes that Aldi sells.  This week they were $1.79 for the bag.  Sometimes they are only $1 and I have never seen them much over $2.  I used about 1/3 of the bag tonight.  Wash about 15 small potatoes, DO NOT PEEL… save those nutrients for your bod squad!  Cut each in half, put in pan, cover with water, add a little salt, boil until tender. 

I buy the package of four frozen SALMON filets at Aldi.  They are always right under $4 for the bag and always very delicious.  For my family I only use 3 of the filets because my kids split one.  I could honestly eat all four of the filets myself, but this would not be very good on the budget…ah one day perhaps.  Once the filets are thawed (do so in the fridge all day or in water in the sink), rinse them lightly and pat dry.  Sprinkle on a very light dusting of lemon pepper and then a little extra black pepper.  Next put a small dollop of bar-b-que sauce on each filet.  Smoosh around with your finger.  Flip filet over and smoosh a dollop on the other side.  Let the filets sit while you get the broccoli ready.

Wash fresh BROCCOLI CROWNS.  These were $1.99 which was a little high for Aldi, but not for the usual neighborhood supermarket price.  Cut off the broccoli florets and as much of the stem as you like to eat.  Put in a glass bowl and add a few tablespoons of water.  Cover (I use a ceramic plate) and microwave for 3 minutes.  Leave the plate on after cooking to allow broccoli to continue to steam.  Before you serve, put the bowl back into the microwave for about 30 seconds to reheat.  I serve mine without any seasoning and put salt and pepper on the table. I think broccoli is most gorgeous, fresh, steamed, and with a tiny bit of salt!

When the potatoes are done boiling, I plug-in my Foreman to heat.  Drain the potatoes and put in a large serving bowl or mixing bowl (which you should just go ahead and serve them in…less dishes).  Add 4 or 5 or 6 🙂  rounds of olive oil on top of the potatoes.  ***Throw the salmon on the Foreman real quick and set a timer for only 3 minutes!***  Take a fork and smash each potato piece one time.  Add a small handful of GRATED PARMESAN CHEESE, a couple large pinches of DRIED BASIL and GARLIC POWDER (or you can mince two garlic cloves), sprinkle with SALT AND PEPPER and one more round of olive oil.  Mix it around a few times and you’re done!  

Grab your SALMON off the Foreman as soon as 3 minutes is up.  Put 30 seconds back on the microwave and reheat the broccoli and you ready to serve!

Price Breakdown— Salmon $3-$4 depending on family size, Broccoli $2 (unfortunately, but totally worth it to have fresh), Potatoes $1  Total—$6 – $7 for a totally gorgeous meal for four!  Wait a second…didn’t I just pay $15.95 for ONE of this same fancy salmon dinner at a restaurant down the street the other day?  Sheesh.

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Recipes, Recipes, salmon, super foods. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meal 2- Gorgeous Super Foods

  1. Michele Stornello says:

    I’m going to plan my weekly meals based on what you cooked the week prior. No pressure, but you need to get blogging so I don’t continue torturing my family with assembly type meals–add water, add milk, add ground meat, choke down over-processed/preservative laden nastiness.

  2. Gayle Willard says:

    Love the blog! I’ve shopped at Aldi for years. Have you ever noticed how quiet it is compared to other grocery stores? And yes, very fast. I think their produce is excellent and I’m a fan of their meat–especially lean hamburger and the packing. Their mandarin oranges are so much better than Dole or store brands and 39 cents a can! [last time I bought some last year] I remember giving a case of them to my favorite DIL one year for Christmas. 🙂
    Rachel–this is a great blog and your writing is excellent–very inspiring and funny. I’m a subscriber!

    • Thanks a lot, Gayle. I love the canned mandarin oranges as well. They really cram them in that little can. You reminded me of an awesome salad that I have made with them. I will have to put that on the to-do list. Most days the store is very quiet! However, I don’t recommend going 5:00 on a Sunday or before a snowstorm. But then I wouldn’t recommend going to any grocery store at that time…so if you HAD to go to one, it might as well be Aldi!

  3. Heather Russell says:

    I’m not so lucky to have a neighborhood Aldi. But I still look forward to your lovely recipe ideas. I have really gotten into ordering fresh organic produce from a monthly buying club here. It is so much better and fresher than what I was buying at the grocery store here. So I’m ready to put your recipes to work!

    Needed: recipes for avocados and fresh artichokes!

Leave a Reply

