Meal 3- Italian Meatballs with Whole Wheat Pasta and my Gorgeous Secret Sidekick to ANY meal!

As I am trapped in my house for one more day (because of snowmageddon 2011 or the blizzard of oz…two totally hilarious names I heard today for the copious amounts of snow we have outside), I find that I am starting to scrape my pantry and my freezer.  Luckily, my family’s pallets did not have to settle.  I used a tube of frozen ground turkey, a package of whole wheat spaghetti, a jar of spaghetti sauce, a tomato who was hiding in the corner of the vegetable drawer,  some old bread that I have been keeping safe in the fridge from the evil mold man, and a few spare frozen fancy green beans to create another gorgeous meal.    

Here is how to make it!  First, boil the water for your WHOLE WHEAT NOODLES.  When its boiling, add the noodles. 

Whisk an egg with a couple pinches of italian seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.  You can substitute real onion and garlic to make it more gourmet.  You could also substitute a fork for a wire whisk.  However, I do NOT recommend it.  Whisking is just plain fun and good for the soul.  Dear Santa, Thank you so much for putting a wire whisk in my stocking when I was 8.  It was the best Christmas present ever.  I love you!  Love, Me…. Add the mushy, thawed ground turkey to the egg mixture.  Crunch some crackers over the top or a handful of bread crumbs…whichever is easier at the time.  Mix it all together.  Heat a few rounds of OLIVE OIL in an electric skillet set at 350 degrees.  Form balls with about 1 tablespoon of mixture and drop in oil.  Just dig in with your hands.  It is so much easier than any alternative.  Flip the turkey balls on each side until they are fully cooked.  Add one jar of SPAGHETTI SAUCE, heat, and keep warm. 

Check the pasta.  If it is done, drain it.  When I drain my pasta I put a couple of rounds or olive oil on it.  This will keep it from sticking together in a giant glob.  At this point steam a third of a bag of FROZEN FANCY GREEN BEANS.  To steam, just put beans in a microwave-safe bowl with a few tablespoons of water.  Cover with a plate and microwave for 2-3 minutes.  Leave plate on bowl to continue steaming. 

Now for the gorgeous part!!!  My favorite concoction in the entire world…

Chopped tomatoes (grape, Roma, regular…it doesn’t matter as long as it is a tomato), minced garlic, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, basil, salt, and pepper.  Some call it brushetta…I call it LOVE!  Add it to chunks of mozzarella cheese, put it on a salad, eat it plain, dip it with crackers, dollop on cucumbers, place it on toast, lick it off your hands…it really doesn’t matter as long as you eat it!  It tastes so gorgeous and is even more gorgeous on the pocketbook. 

Tonight I put my LOVE on top of some old bread that I toasted under the broiler.  I cut the bread, sprinkled on a tiny bit of mozzarella cheese I had left over, and broiled.  Then I put a little LOVE on each slice.  You could broil with the LOVE on top, but I prefer my love cold instead of hot.

Cost Breakdown:  1 lb Ground Turkey- $1.39, jar of Spaghetti Sauce- $1.00, Fit and Active Whole Wheat spaghetti noodles-89 cents (this is the price for the entire box, but I didn’t quite use all of it), everything it took to make the LOVE- maybe $1, 1/3 a bag of green beans 50 cents= $4.78 to feed a family of four an absolutely gorgeous totally Aldi meal! 

I would like to add that Aldi sells pre-made turkey meatballs that taste really good and I remember them being a good price.  Use them instead for the nights when the kids have practice or when you leave the spouse to cook while you go take a bubble bath. 

Last, turkey balls make me smile.  There is a popular festival where people pride themselves in eating a delicacy that comes from a turkey and rhymes with festival.  I have yet to try this food.  However, if I ever do, I will be bringing my own container of LOVE in my pocket to smother it in.

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in ground turkey, Money Saving Recipes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Meal 3- Italian Meatballs with Whole Wheat Pasta and my Gorgeous Secret Sidekick to ANY meal!

  1. Lisa says:

    Love the recipe AND the commentary!! LOL @ the festival.

    • Emily says:

      LOVE this blog. I’m sure your turkey balls are great. =) Also, a few weeks ago I did the same brushetta thing and used cut up hot dog buns that were starting to get hard. I’m crafty too! I probably learned from the best. =)

  2. Sharon Williams says:

    Awesome idea for this whole “gorgeous” thing! Only 98 more to go! Bet the hubby and kiddo’s are love’n it! Can’t wait to try the salmon! Good Luck! And thanks for sharing your expertise!

  3. Deb Luptak says:

    I love your blog. Ben gave me the address this morning. I have shared the address with my women’s group at church. Bon appetit!

  4. Tim Williams says:

    I have to tell you Mrs., I have been very entertained by the new blog. When do you think the movie will come out???

  5. Heather Russell says:

    Do you take requests? I need recipes for avocado and fresh artichokes. Going to pick up my monthly fresh organic produce order tomorrow. Yum!

    • I’ll take your requests, sista!
      1)For the artichokes…I don’t have a lot of experience here. However, when I studied in Spain, my house dad would cook them right inside the huge pot of paella. They were delicioso! The artichoke took on all the flavors of the paella. We would eat the articoke “leaves” by having the fleshy part facing upward, press your teeth on it, and pull out of your mouth. Yummy and fun!
      2) For the avocado…classic guac, chunky guac… or for a more interesting choice… you could frappe it with some garlic and plain yogurt for a sandwhich spread. Also, you could marinate some cold, cooked shrimp with tomatoe, garlic, olive oil, balsamic, salt, pepper (basically, make LOVE plus shrimp). Then before you serve it, chunk up an avocado and add it. MAN! That sounds SOOO good… I might have to make an extra trip to Aldi today! Don’t forget you can also just dig into the avocado plain Jane. Plain Jane can be surprising satisfying!

  6. Lisa says:

    I’m trying to become a “follower” Hope it works!

Leave a Reply

