Meal 5- Swiss Stromboli with Granny Smith Salad

Last night, some fabulous friends invited us over for dinner.  The hostess with the mostess made us an absolutely gorgeous Swiss Stromboli.  It is with her permission that she has allowed me to bring the recipe to you all.  I am forever grateful, mostly, because it was a truly a gourmet and gorgeous meal.  I must also add that the hostess made her first trip to Aldi before our dinner date and found it most delightful!  As the dinner guest, I brought over a new salad I created using Granny Smith Apples.  In creating my salad, I kept the magnetic attraction between Mr. Swiss Cheese and Mrs. Granny Smith at the front of my mind.  Whether you take the time to make this meal (which I suggest more than any meal yet) or not, you must indulge in eating melted Swiss cheese and Granny Smith apples.  Aldi sells an 8 ounce block of Swiss cheese for $1.69 and today the bag of Granny Smiths were $2.89.  I have bought the bags of apples for as little as a $1.  Pair this treat with a glass of Winking Owl Chardonnay ($2.99) and you will feel like you are dining at the top of the Swiss Alpes…or maybe just at a fancy fondue joint.

Here’s dinner folks… For the SWISS STROMBOLI, you will use the following ingredients; your favorite bread dough (don’t forget to think whole wheat…if you tell the whole wheat it is your favorite he will gladly be your BFF),  8 ounce package of Swiss cheese,  8 ounces of thin sliced ham, 8 slices of bacon-cooked and crumbled (not endorsed by gourmetgotgorgeous in interest of nutrition, but fully endorsed by all who eat it and are willing to counteract the evils of bacon with running up and down the stairs five extra times).  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Simply roll the bread dough out about 1/4 inch thin.  Layer pieces of Swiss cheese (you can also shred the cheese), thin sliced ham, and sprinkle on bacon (if you have stairs in your house).   Roll it all up like a fruit roll-up.  Cut a few two-inch slits in the top, so it can breath.  Place it on a pan and bake for 25-35 minutes.  When golden brown, slice and serve. 

For the GRANNY SMITH SALAD, you will use the following ingredients; 3 or so Granny Smith apples, one chunk of Romaine lettuce, 1/4 red onion, handful of pecans, handful of dried cranberries, 1/4 cup olive oil, 3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar, 1 tablespoon sugar, salt and pepper.  Clean and chop up the apples in cubes, Romaine lettuce in strips, and red onion in small pieces.  Add a handful of pecans and a handful of dried cranberries.  In a small bowl, mix the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sugar, a few pinches of salt and pepper.  Drizzle your homemade dressing over the salad and toss.

Price Breakdown:  Bread dough- kind of depends…I make mine from scratch (tell you about it later) with mostly Aldi baking ingredients so I am guessing it is no more than $1.  Cheese- $1.69, Ham- $1.50, Romaine- 83cents, 3 Grannies- 96cents, Handfuls and pinches-a very generous $2.  =  $7.98 for a Gorgeous Dinner Party meal for 4 adults and 2 children

Romaine lettuce note (A favorite Aldi item!)***Aldi sells packs of 3 chunks of Romaine.  They keep a really long time in the crisper.  I can usually make salads for 3 meals off of 1 bag.  Today the bag cost $2.49.  I have also bought it for much cheaper! 

***Gorgeous Notes**** Although tonight’s version of the Stromboli was new for me, my relationship with Stromboli in general dates back to the college years.  Stromboli and I first met during a group date with my dearest girlfriends at the dorm cafeteria.  Meal after meal we were struck down by the flavorless blobs that were served on cloudy trays.  Then one evening, in late September, the dark-haired, blue-eyed cafeteria man looked into my eyes and said, “What’s in your Stromboli?”  Not knowing how to respond, I took the golden wonder that was placed on my tray, gave a little wink, and moved forward to our usual dining spot.  From that day on, Stromboli night became a monthly holiday.  We dressed up for him, invited family and friends to join us, and exchanged gifts, while we savored him bite by bite.  I predict that today’s post is only the beginning of my renewed love affair with the Stromboli.  In fact, I will be stuffing him with something else this evening for the big football game.  So now I must pose the question,

“What’s in your Stromboli?”  …ahhh…the possibilities…

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in apple salad, Money Saving Recipes, Recipes, sandwich, stromboli. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

