Meal 6- Chicken Fried Rice “Rachele’s Rice”

Tonight I will out my name to the world, along with one of my tried and true dishes.  I have been making variations of fried rice ever since my mom taught me when I was a wee one.  I should probably call it “Bonnie Rice”, after my mommy….or perhaps “Mary Jane Rice” after my grandma.  I have a feeling this one came from Jane, but I’m not quite sure.  Unfortunately, Bonnie, Mary, Jane, nor Mary Jane start with the letter “R”, so I will continue to call it “Rachele Rice”.  I would never be so vain as to name a rice after myself.  Instead, a good friend named her after I introduced the two a few weeks ago.  She has since made “Rachele Rice” for her non-rice eating hubby 2 times!  Way to go non-rice eating hubby…way to branch out and eat one of the most abundant grains on the planet.  

This fried rice is truly gorgeous.  I have never made two exactly the same.  If you choose to try this dish, feel free to add other bored vegetables who are just lying around the house.  Although it is “fried”, I only use one small round of olive oil in the beginning.  Another gorgeous fried rice stat…a little meat goes a long way.  It is the perfect excuse to use up the last chicken breast or a little left over ham.  Shrimp would also be gorgeous in this dish.  Because of the egg, you will not be shy on protein.  Because of all the veggies, you will not be shy on vitamins.  Because of the flavor, you will not be shy on salivation.  I will now tell you how I made this tonight, but remember to add or delete at will. 

Ingredients: The Largest Chicken Breast from the bag, 2 eggs, 1 cup white rice (use brown to be healthier), 2 raw carrots, a few pieces of red pepper left over from the football game veggie tray, a handful of frozen peas, a handful of frozen corn, onion, garlic, olive oil, soy sauce, ground ginger, black pepper

Cook 1 cup white rice as directed on the bag.  Peel and chop up the carrots, half of the onion, and the red pepper.  Cut the raw chicken into pieces.  Heat a small round of oil on high heat.  Immediately, add the onion.  Stir and add the chicken.  Mince in a couple of cloves of garlic.  Stir.  Throw in the carrots and pepper.  Stir it until the carrots seem almost cooked.  Throw in a small handful of frozen peas and frozen corn.  Stir.  Heat it up.  Sprinkle on some ground ginger and ground pepper.  Stir.  Push all that stuff to the side and crack the eggs in the open area.  Scramble them up real quick.  Stir the scrambled egg in with the stuff.  Add the white rice (once it is finished cooking…which it should be by now).  Drizzle soy sauce over the white rice.  Begin to slowly stir the rice in with the stuff.  Now, let the rice sit for about thirty seconds to a minute and stir.  Sit and stir, sit and stir, sit and stir, until you feel the burn.  But not really, don’t let it burn.  I like mine to get slightly crispy in spots.   Don’t let all the stirring scare you.  You can actually replace the word “stir” with “have fun” throughout the recipe.  This is seriously fun to make and your arm will get a work out too!

Aldi Price Breakdown: Rice 19cents, 2 eggs-20 cents, 2 carrots-16cents, Chicken breast- $1, handfuls of other veggies, onion, pinches and punches-maybe 50cents= $2.05 for a  completely Gorgeous Aldi meal for 4!  And my daughter and I both have lunch for tomorrow! 

Since I knew this meal was super inexpensive, I splurged on Aldi’s frozen chicken egg rolls.  You get 4 for $2.49.  They are so yummy…packed with veggies and chicken.  The egg roll addition, made this meal look more gorgeous (who really cares, it is going to be mashed up in your stomach soon…not to mention other places) and taste more gourmet (now we’re talkin’), but is completely unnecessary.  However, lets face it.  Sometimes in life we just need the extra egg roll.  The other day my husband sneaked up from behind me and picked me up by pants.  Smoke blew out my ears while pain blew up my nether region.  Completely unnecessary, dear, but I guess you needed your egg roll.  I officially forgive you.

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in chicken, fried rice, Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meal 6- Chicken Fried Rice “Rachele’s Rice”

  1. Bonnie says:

    Your variations have made your fried rice uniquely Rachele Rice. Sounds delicious.
    MOM

  2. Kristine says:

    Hi!! You don’t know me in the least, but I am now following your blog via recommendation from Kim Hudson–Heather’s friend 🙂 Just wanted to say–wonderful dish!!! I am just learning how to cook–really cook–on a budget–tight budget–and your site is the PERFECT how-to! My fiance loves it too (well….he loves the fruits of it…)!! So thank you! We are making both the beef sausage recipe and teryaki pork later this week. Only downside is Omaha doesn’t have an Aldi…so I’m doing it walmart style…and yes, I ended up buying an unnecessary bag of Reeses Minis while I was there…
    Anyway, thank you! I love your work! 😉

    • Hi Kristine,
      I’m so glad that I am able to help! Kimmie is a good friend and quite talented in the kitchen herself. Dinner is in the oven right now and I am gearing up to add a some new meals tonight. Happy cooking, happy eating, and happy fiance days! I will say an extra prayer tonight that Aldi may enhance the town of Omaha soon.

Leave a Reply

