Meal 7- Sausage with Veggies- Rated “A” for Anyone Can Make It (sorry, dear…love you)

Lucky #7…not super gourmet, but very gorgeous…especially since my husband made it!  I had to work late tonight, so I left the hubby a few classic Aldi ingredients, an electric skillet, a few verbal reminders, and all the faith in the world.  This is one of his favorite dishes, so he doesn’t mind making it at all.  In fact, I think he likes it when I let him enter my kitchen haven…especially when I’m not there to boss him around.   

When I stepped out of the car , I smelled the sausage aroma that seeped into the garage.  I entered the house to find this lovely plate to my left.  Maybe working late wasn’t so bad after all!  This is another meal where vegetables can vary.  You will need a Beef Smoked Sausage or similar sausage, some potatoes (about 10 small golden ones), carrots, peppers, onions, chili powder.

Simply chop up the sausage in 1/2 inch rounds, wash and slice potatoes in 1/4 inch rounds (don’t dare try to peel them), slice some peppers, an onion (please peel first), and a few carrots.  Put the sausage in the pan first and begin to cook on medium high heat.  This is a dish that I do NOT use any olive oil…shocking.  The meat produces plenty of oils for all the veggies to be happy and not too unhealthy.  Add the onions and potatoes next and cook for a few minutes.  Last add the carrots and peppers.  Put the lid on for about 20 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Sprinkle lightly with chili powder.  Serve when veggies are tender to your liking. 

Aldi Price Breakdown: Beef smoked sausage- $2.49, 1/3 bag of golden potatoes 60cents, 3 carrots- 25cents, ***parts of green, red, and orange peppers left over from the football game veggie tray-kinda free, but I’ll say $1 since we all know peppers are expensive and I don’t want anyone accusing me of stealing from Aldi, onion-15cents= a gorgeous $4. 49

***Peppers are a great product to purchase at Aldi.  This week you could get 3 greens for $1.99 or 3 multi color for $2.99.  This is the highest I have EVER seen them in 6 years which I’m sure is because they are not in season.  I can pretty much guarantee they are still cheaper than the neighborhood grocery store and just as gorgeous…if not more. If you are not a pepper person, you should considering pecking at one again.  I started giving my babies peppers when they started people food and they still love them.  Red, orange, and yellow are surprisingly sweet and loaded with nutrients.  They dress up a meal like adding a necklace to a t-shirt.  Peter Piper would be very proud if more people pecked on peppers.

***Added note*** The background fruit pictured above is from Aldi, too.  LOVE to decorate with it and love to feed it to my family and myself.  The rumor really is true… if you have fruit sitting out all the time, it tantilizes you and makes you to eat it more often.  What could be better?  Aldi’s fruit prices are gorgeous!

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in budget friendly meals, decorating with fruit, Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, peppers, Recipes, sausage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

