G3- The Play-doh is all dried up!

Another snow day… One day I shall spend snow days sleeping until 10, lying around the house watching soap operas, and eating bon-bons.  As for now, I will take advantage of one more entire day that I can spend with my children…(even though Mr. Five-year-old currently has his hand on my computer cord and is threatening to pull it out of the wall…arrggg).  After shoveling the driveway together we headed inside for cocoa and play- doh time.  Then, the unthinkable happened.  After gnawing the plastic lid off of the container, we found only chunks of colorful rocks.  Fun for about 2 minutes, max. 

We almost, resorted to the playroom for time spent simmering plastic food, stacking cardboard blocks, and combing stringy doll hair.  Then, I thought better. I should not have to spend my entire day in their playroom…they can come into my playroom…the kitchen!  The sensory experience will be just as stimulating as play-doh and mommy will be much more genuine in her play and conversation.  For some reason a craving for Auntie Anne’s Pretzels ran through me, so off to google I went.  I found what seemed like a promising recipe.  I grabbed my tiny sidekicks and my Aldi flour and starting playing!  Our pretzel dough was as opposite of play-doh rocks as you can get.  Eek… baking is definitely not my forte.  Hence, why I am only sharing my idea and not the recipe.  Part of the recipe stated to dip the pretzel into a bath of warm water and baking soda.  What the heck?  Is the dough having an allergic reaction?  This made it even goopier.  The traditional pretzel shape wasn’t going so hot, so I opted for another holiday super mom moment.  “Guess what kids?  It’s suddenly get ready for Valentine’s Day time!”  Pictured below you can see my lovlies with their perfect-ish Valentine treat.  Not the healthiest treat in the world, but no icing and sprinkles involved!  They actually tasted very good…but not like Auntie Anne’s.  Whats the G-3?  When the play-doh is all dried up, Aldi ingredients to the rescue for some real-dough fun at a gorgeous price!

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, parenting, Recipes, Valentine's cookie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to G3- The Play-doh is all dried up!

  1. Aimee Q says:

    According to Alton Brown, you’re supposed to dip pretzel dough in baking soda to help it brown correctly in the oven. Well…technically you’re supposed to dip it in a lye solution, but lye’s pretty caustic so I bet you don’t have any in the house!

    Yes, I do watch too much Food Network. 🙂 I love your blog – good for you for cooking every night, and for doing it so inexpensively! Your babies are totes adorbs.

    • Thanks for the info! As I said, baking is not my forte. Might have to look into the lye as my pretzels were anything but brown. However, since it will probably be a number of years before I try making pretzels again, I might just let the lye lay low and visit Auntie Anne’s the next time I’m at the mall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

