Meal 9- Pork Teriyaki with Teriyaki Green Beans and Carrots

Tonight I chose to use the bottle of teriyaki sauce that I bought at Aldi last week.  It was $1 and I only used half the bottle.  I used the sauce as a marinade for 3 boneless pork chops.  Served over steamed rice and plated next to a new side dish, I created a gorgeous gourmet dinner for four costing no more than $5.26.

Necessary Ingredients: 3-4 pork chops (my kids share one), 1 cup white rice, 1/2 bag frozen fine green beans, 4 carrot sticks, 1/4 cup raw unsalted almonds, teriyaki sauce, drizzle of honey, black pepper, olive oil.

Cut raw pork into 1/4 inch strips.  Toss into a plastic container with some teriyaki sauce.  Cover and let sit in fridge for a while.  When you are ready to have dinner.  Cook 1 cup white rice.  Peel and cut carrots.  I cut mine to mimick the green bean sizes.  Do not mimick green bean color.  That would be weird.  Put the almonds in a baggie and crunch with a hammer.  Don’t let out all your aggression on the almonds…it should not be almond paste, just small chunks.  Boil about an inch of water in a saucepan.  Add 1/2 bag of green beans and the carrots.  Cover and turn down to a simmer.  Heat a few rounds of olive oil in a skillet.  Add the pork strips and cook until pink is almost gone.  Sprinkle with black pepper and add a little more teriyaki sauce.  You have to be a little careful not to over cook the pork.  Drain the beans and carrots.  Drizzle one small squeeze of honey.  Drizzle two small squeezes of teriyaki sauce.  Add one round of olive oil.  Sprinkle on almond chunks.   Serve and chow down!

Aldi Price Breakdown: Pork chops- $3, Teriyaki sauce-50cents, Green beans-85cents, 4 Carrots-32cents, Rice-19cents, Almonds, drizzles, rounds, and sprinkles-40cents= $5.26

***Almonds***Aldi sells a 12 ounce bag of Deluxe Natural Raw Almonds for $3.79.  One of my favorite articles… 

www.quickandsimple.com  says that eating 25 of these a day curves the appetite.  Whether it curves the appetite or not, they are super good for you.  1/4 of a cup is 25 almonds. There are 11 of these in the bag…thats 34 cents a day.  This is a new staple in my pantry.    I was just going to make steamed green beans tonight.  However, I had an extra two minutes on my hands.  I found my fingers googling green beans and teriyaki.  An interesting recipe came up from the Food Network, but when I clicked on it, nothing happened.  So… I took what I saw in the search result blurb and created tonight’s side dish.  I was surprised to find a dish that I could use the teriyaki sauce and some of my almonds.  Way to go google.  Once again you have guided me to being gorgeously gourmet…Aldi style.

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in almonds, budget friendly meals, green beans, Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, pork chops, Recipes, teriyaki and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

