G4- Aldi Date Night

Tonight my husband and I are going out for Valentine’s Day.  We are going to a wine tasting dinner.  I’m super excited to learn more about how wines are paired with different foods.  Up to this point, I just pair something liquid with something food-ish.  Sometimes I act gourmet and put a red wine with a red meat and a white wine with a white meat.  In a matter of hours I will learn more about how wine can be gorgeous and I will bring any  interesting or comical information home safely to your computer.

As for last night, we stayed in to save some cash and had a family date night at home.  I made a few classic salads with Aldi Romaine lettuce, two tomatoes, one cucumber, low-fat italian dressing, and a sprinkle of parmesan.  My kiddos chowed down on the cucumbers while hubby and I chowed down on a bottle of Winking Owl Merlot…$2.99!!!  We paired our wine and veggies with an Aldi frozen pizza.  Follow it up with popcorn and a Red Box movie and we were sittin’ pretty on a Friday night in mid-Missouri.

Aldi Price Breakdown– Romaine-83cents, tomatoes 33cents, cucumber 69cents, Mama Cozi pizza- $2.25 (they have different kinds with different prices), merlot- $2.99, microwave popcorn- 25cents, Red Box movie- $1 (Not from Aldi…but if Aldi starting having Red Box rentals I would probably wet myself I would be so excited)= One Gorgeous Family Date Night for $8.34

I would love to sit around on a gorgeous Saturday afternoon and type some more random words about my non-gourmet weekend, but I better go play outside with my kids and then go shave my legs for my non-family date night!  Happy Valentine’s Day Weekend!  And if you are feeling Valentine-less, I recommend Ooolahlah Mama Cozi with a little Winking Owl…wink…wink…

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in Aldi, budget friendly meals, Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, parenting, pizza, salad, wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to G4- Aldi Date Night

  1. Emily says:

    I haven’t been able to drink merlot since your wedding. I even turned it into a verb in honor of the experience. For example, “I got merloted last night.” Enjoy your Valentine’s Day. Rickie and I are celebrating ours on Sunday, which is also the one year anniversary of our engagement, and Monday is his birthday. =) Mama Cozi pizzas are really quite tasty too. My mom loves your blog too, btw. It keeps her occupied and gives her new ways to possibly impress The Dan. Have a great weekend…can’t wait to see the next meal.

Leave a Reply

