Meal 14- Pork Pot Sticker Edamame Soup with Egg Rolls- The 2 year-old and 5 year-old open their minds and mouths.

     Several weeks ago Aldi had pork pot stickers on “clearance” in the freezer case.  They were 99 cents for a box of 10 Asian dumplings.  I bought 2 packages.  I threw them in the freezer and then forgot about them.  I also forgot to thaw something out before work this morning.  So when I got home,  it was “dinner hunt time”.  Much to my surprise, I found those little boxes of something called pot stickers praying to get out of the cold, dark freezer.  I warmed them up in the microwave and threw them in a hot pot of yummy Asian broth.  What better to pair them with than something else I have never cooked before…edamame.  I have heard of the health wonders of edemame.  When I found a frozen bag at Aldi last week, they immediately jumped into my cart.  Tonight, they found an even better home…in my tummy!  Nothing is cuter than a 2-year-old saying “mo emamame peas, mama”.  I can’t believe I haven’t been feeding these to her for years!  Wait…she is only 2.  I guess starting now will is sufficient.  I knew the soup would satisfy the taste buds, but I wasn’t so sure about the stomach.  For this reason only, I paired it with 4 pork egg rolls.  In hindsight, they weren’t really necessary, but made dinner extra gorgeous. 

Ingredients: 2 packages of Pork Pot Stickers, 3 cups beef broth (or 3 cups water and 3 squares of bouillon), 2 large carrots, 1 small onion, 1/2 bag frozen edamame, sprinkle of ground ginger and ground pepper, round of olive oil, soy sauce,  4 egg rolls.

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  Thinly slice onion.  Heat a round of olive oil in a large soup pot.  Add the onion and cook slowly.  Peel and thinly slice 2 large carrots.  Put edamame in a glass bowl with 1/2 cup of water.  Cook in microwave for 3 minutes.  Stir and cook 2 more minutes.  Add carrots to pot.  Put egg rolls in oven for 18 minutes.  Drain edamame pods and rinse.  Pop beans out of pods.  (If you are a scab picker or pimple popper, you will especially enjoy this step.)  Get your appetite back and add the edamame to the pot.  Pour in the beef broth.  Sprinkle on ground ginger, black pepper, and soy sauce.  Put the bags of pot stickers in the microwave for 2 minutes.  Add to the pot.  Keep the soup warm until the egg rolls are done.  Serve and enjoy!   

Aldi Price Breakdown: 2 packages of Pork Pot Stickers- $1.98 (regular price is $1.99 each…get lucky and find some a few weeks after they are the special item), 3 cups beef broth (or 3 cups water and 3 squares of bouillon)-I did it the bouillon way…I’ve had the jar for so long that I have no clue how much the jar of bouillon cost…I will say 30cents for 3 cubes, 2 large carrots- 16cents, 1 small onion- 20cents, 1/2 bag frozen edamame- 75cents, 4 egg rolls- $2.49.= A very gorgeous $5.88 for a gourmet meal for 4!

Now for a proud mommy moment… the wee ones seriously tried the soup without hesitation and ate EVERY bite!  If you like pasta, pork, carrots, and green beans, there is no reason you should not enjoy this meal.  Make mommy proud. The next time you are at the store throw something in your cart that you have never heard of before…or perhaps something you have heard of but never had the bazoinkies to try. 

About gourmetgotgorgeous

I am a 28 year-old mother of two. My husband and I love to travel to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico. We do so by saving our money through the way we grocery shop. However, we didn't want to put our bodies, our tastes buds, or our childrens' nutrition at risk. So we haven't... we eat gorgeous every night and travel gorgeous one to two weeks per year.
This entry was posted in Aldi, Asian, budget friendly meals, edamame, Money Saving Recipes, money saving tips, parenting, pork, pot stickers, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meal 14- Pork Pot Sticker Edamame Soup with Egg Rolls- The 2 year-old and 5 year-old open their minds and mouths.

  1. Stacey says:

    I am so excited to know that Aldi sells edamame! I have never seen it there before! Woohoo! I will have to share a couple of my latest easy recipes with you. Keep blogging… love it!

    • Hey Stace,
      I would love to hear your recipes. I’m not sure if the edamame are an “all the time” item. In fact, I’m guessing they probably are not. However, you can bet that I will be stocking up every chance I get! They are so simple and yummy.

  2. Bonnie says:

    I continue to wish for an Aldi at the lake. That is a bargain price for edemame at Aldi. I will try your recipe with adaptations, sounds great. I am also ready to add them to my seed list for garden planting. Is Corbin ready for gardening???
    Love,
    MOM

Leave a Reply

